GLENWOOD SPRINGS – On the Nov. 7 election ballot, voters will see three seats up for election, one contested, for the Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees.

The following candidates submitted verified petitions by the deadline and reside within specified boundaries in one of three trustee districts:

  • Trustee district 1 (Pitkin County) – Current trustee Charles Cunniffe is running unopposed.
  • Trustee district 3 (Western Garfield County) – Peg Portscheller and Randy Winkler are running. This seat was vacated by Mary Ellen Denomy, due to term limits.
  • Trustee district 7 (Eagle County) – Doris Dewton is running unopposed. This seat was vacated by Glenn Davis, due to term limits.

The Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees has seven at-large seats that are elected by all the voters in the CMC District, which covers all or parts of six counties. Board responsibilities include employing and evaluating the president, approving the college budget, certifying the mill levy, working with the college president to develop a strategic plan, monitoring the progress of the institution and acting in the best interests of the college as required by statute.

One resident from each of the trustee districts listed above is elected to the board. Those elected serve four-year terms. The board usually meets on a monthly basis at locations around the district.