The U.S. Department of Education has announced that Colorado Mountain College is among the 2017 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools Postsecondary Sustainability Awardees. CMC is one of only nine postsecondary institutions in the nation to receive this honor and the only such institution in Colorado.

Colorado Mountain College was nominated by the Colorado Department of Higher Education. Since signing the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment in 2009, CMC has focused its environmental efforts on three major areas: 1) reducing its carbon footprint through direct action, 2) integrating sustainability into all institutional operations, and 3) using its position as an educational institution to teach students and community stakeholders about the changing nature of our surrounding natural environment.

“We are honored to receive this designation on behalf of the many faculty, students, and staff dedicated to implementing sustainable practices at CMC,” said Dr. Carrie Besnette Hauser, president and CEO of Colorado Mountain College. “At CMC we try to ‘walk the talk’ on sustainability, through installing solar and geo-exchange systems on several of our campuses, expanding recycling and reducing water usage, offering a sustainability studies bachelor’s degree that gives our graduates the tools to be powerful advocates for effective environmental policies, and numerous other initiatives to bring us toward carbon neutrality.”

Across the country, 63 educational institutions – 45 k-12 schools, nine school districts and nine postsecondary institutions – are being honored for their innovative efforts to reduce environmental impact and utility costs, improve health and wellness, and ensure effective sustainability.

Nominating authorities include state education agencies, two federal school districts, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Each of these entities conduct competitions selecting up to five schools or districts and up to one postsecondary institution to nominate to the U.S. Department of Education annually.