Photo of CMC education award winners

Four Colorado Mountain College students were among 27 future educators honored at the state capitol May 8, 2017, in the inaugural ceremony of Colorado’s Aspiring Educator Honor Roll. The initiative to create the honor roll came from Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, the executive director of the Colorado Department of Higher Education. Hunter Reed (center, holding the CMC flag) is shown here with, left to right, CMC Vail Valley student Cherie Rollins, CMC Glenwood Springs student Kenia Pinela, CMC Vail Valley student Saira Hernandez, Hunter Reed, CMC Glenwood Springs student Monika Marsh, CMC faculty Dr. Leticia Burbano de Lara, and Dr. Katy Anthes, the Colorado Department of Education commissioner of education.