Colorado Mountain College logoGLENWOOD SPRINGS – On November’s ballot voters will see one contested seat for Colorado Mountain College’s Board of Trustees.

The three districts with seats up for election are:

District 3 – The area within the boundaries of Garfield School District Re-2 and Garfield County School District 16 (western Garfield County). Current trustee Mary Ellen Denomy is running, as is Jay Rickstrew.

District 1 – Pitkin County not including the Roaring Fork School District Re-1 Director District B (Carbondale through Glenwood Springs), plus the area within the boundaries of Re-1 Director District A (Basalt). Current trustee Charles Cunniffe is running unopposed.

District 7 – The area within the boundaries of Eagle County School District Re-50J Director Districts B, C, D, E, F and G. Current board President Glenn Davis is running unopposed.

The Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees has seven at-large seats that are elected by all the voters in the six counties that constitute the CMC District. Board responsibilities include employing and evaluating the president, approving the college budget, certifying the mill levy, establishing college goals and monitoring the progress of the institution.

One resident from each of the following counties is elected to the board: Eagle, Lake, Pitkin, Routt and Summit. An East Garfield and a West Garfield County resident are also selected by voters to serve. Those elected serve four-year terms. The board usually meets on a monthly basis at locations around the district.