On November’s ballot, voters will not be selecting representatives for Colorado Mountain College’s Board of Trustees.

By the end of August, the final deadline for candidates to file an intent to run for one of the four open seats on the CMC board, only one candidate had filed a complete petition in each of three districts. No candidate turned in the necessary paperwork for the Routt County opening, so the board will have to appoint someone to fill that office.

The result is that there are uncontested races in the districts up for election this year – West Garfield County, Routt County, Eagle County and Pitkin County. State Statute 1-5-208 permits the college to cancel a board election if there are no contested races.

At the board’s November meeting, the college’s new board members will be sworn in, including Glenn Davis for District 7 (Eagle County) and Mary Ellen Denomy for District 3 (West Garfield County). Anne Freedman, the current trustee for District 1 (which includes Pitkin and parts of Eagle counties), will represent that district for another term.

Trustees not returning to the board are Roy Brubacher, Shalee Cunningham and Doris Dewton, who is term-limited. In August the board had appointed Cunningham to fill the District 5 (parts of Routt County) vacancy created by the resignation and subsequent death of Benita Bristol.

The Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees has seven at-large seats that are elected by all the voters in the six counties that constitute the CMC District. Board responsibilities include employing and evaluating the president, approving the college budget, certifying the mill levy, establishing college goals and monitoring the progress of the institution.

One resident from each of the following counties is elected to the board: Eagle, Lake, Pitkin, Routt and Summit. An East Garfield and a West Garfield County resident are also selected by voters to serve. Those elected serve four-year terms. The board usually meets on a monthly basis at locations around the district. The next meeting will be held Sept. 14 at the college’s Timberline Campus in Buena Vista and Leadville.